top of page
  • Braid and Bake

Bringing Home To Wherever You Are

I’ve always loved the comforts of home, like mom’s roasted chicken, comfy sweatpants from high school, my spot on the couch and of course, family dinners. For me, those dinners were likely on Friday nights, when we’d all gather around the table to welcome Shabbat. There was plenty of delicious food and always good company; all that’s required to make good memories.


And now, years later, I want to share those memories and bring you that feeling of home, wherever you are.



My Grandma and I at the Mega Challah Bake of Southern New Jersey


 

Challah was something I ate growing up, every Friday night at shabbat dinner. Even though my mother didn’t bake the dough herself, her challah was still amazing and my brother and I loved having that special “homemade” treat every Friday. That fresh smell once the braided bread comes out of the oven is the absolute best! Together as a family, we sang the blessing over the bread and looked forward to that first bite. Wherever I went in life, I took that love and appreciation with me, as well as the value for what the challah stood for; family, friends, spirituality and history.


After learning to prepare and braid the dough myself, I finally began hosting my own shabbat meals in college. I was then able to share the taste and traditions of challah, creating new memories and spreading that gift to others.


6-braided, Whole Wheat Challah.

As more and more friends visited my dinner table, more and more friends asked for the recipe and tips on how to braid and how to bake. And now, 10+ years since my first strand of dough, I am happy to be offering private lessons and group workshops to teach others the meaning and traditions involved in the preparation of challah, in addition to the basic recipe and tips for braiding.


I look forward to working with you to bring my feeling of home to yours, either through freshly baked challah that is customized to your liking, or through a private session where I’ll teach you (and your friends) all that I know!




Wishing you a happy, healthy and meaningful 2019 and of course, a shabbat shalom.




60 views0 comments
bottom of page